Teaching children how to be safe around water is not a luxury; it is a necessity.

The YMCA’s Safety Around Water program can help you make sure they learn essential water safety skills, which can open up a world of possibilities for them to satisfy their curiosity safely. That's why we open our doors to the entire community for Safety Around Water, a free water safety and basic swimming skills program for those with little or no experience. 

Classes are grouped by age, from grades Kindergarten through Sixth Grade. (Ages vary by location) Kids will meet 4 days during that week for 30 minutes, with a family swim time on Friday.

Pre-registration is required. Space is limited so be sure to register early. 

 

Branch Availability (Spots are limited)
(2023 TBD)

Coffman YMCA (Springboro)

Have questions? Contact Darlene Reid at dreid@daytonymca.org

Downtown YMCA (Dayton)

Have questions? Contact Cary Benge, our Aquatics Director, at cbenge@daytonymca.org

Fairborn YMCA

Have questions? Contact Julia Maurer, our Aquatics Director, at jmaurer@daytonymca.org

Grand Lake Health/Premier Health North YMCA (Celina)

Have questions? Contact Cassidy Bowersock, our Aquatics Director, at cbowersock@daytonymca.org

Grand Lake Health/Premier Health South YMCA (Minster)

Have questions? Contact Shantelle Fogt, our Aquatics Director, at sfogt@daytonymca.org

YMCA at the Heights (Huber Heights)

Have questions? Contact Chris Lindeman, our Executive Director, at clindeman@daytonymca.org

Kleptz YMCA (Englewood)

Have questions? Contact Liz Miller, our Aquatics Director, at lmiller@daytonymca.org

Preble County YMCA (Eaton, Ohio)

Have questions? Contact Ashleigh Buffenbarger, our Aquatics Director, at abuffenbarger@daytonymca.org

South YMCA (Kettering, Ohio)

Have questions? Contact Jeff Ross, our Aquatics Director, at jross@daytonymca.org

West Carrollton YMCA

Have questions? Contact Kate Quackenbush at kquackenbush@daytonymca.org

Xenia YMCA

Have questions? Contact Ashley Higdon, our Aquatics Director, at ahigdon@daytonymca.org

Program registration block

Program registration.

Please select your location.

Location